Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Wet

Well I knew it would be, was prepared, and finished the walk nice and dry... on the inside!

At lunchtime though, a member of the group was very wet and cold, her jacket had leaked and so she was soaked through to the skin, and she wasn't wearing over-trousers.  One woman gave her two spare dry tops from her pack, and I gave her my down gilet which I'd put in just in case, so she was a bit warmer.  But if you get that cold you're not going to warm up in a hurry even on the move, and so the leader phoned her husband to collect and drop the unprepared one back to the car park.

It wasn't just her clothes that she hadn't thought about though, all she had in her lunchbox were four Ryvitas filled with something, and a load of salad, and I'm afraid I did suggest - gently - that maybe she didn't have enough calories there.

The woman had come with a friend and so the friend had to cut short his walk too, and so did I as I wanted the gilet back and I wasn't going to make her take it off in the middle of the woods... but I didn't really mind as the weather was horrible! 

So only 6 miles
2 hrs 20 mins
613 feet ascent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.