DERELICT KRUKENBURG RUINS

I awoke even later than I did yesterday.
To our big surprise a thin layer of snow lay all around us and it even snowed for some time during the day.
I felt happy that I had brought the pelargoniums in time inside.
My day was felt with numbers, financial ones that is. I am glad I could finish this in time.
The ruins of Helmarshausen have an interesting history, going back to the age of Charlemagne. It is a place where a church and some houses were build. Later large fortifications were build, for protection against the bishop of Paderborn. It was never besieged however. Gradually the decline had set in and now there has been a restoration to keep the ruins in good condition. We like to climb the tower and have a wonderful view in all directions. From our home we can see the Krukenburg in winter, when the trees are bare.
Maisiebeth is hosting the Derelict Sunday challenge.

My haiku:

First climb the green hill
Then the stone tower and feel
The extreme power

And the proverb:

The power behind the throne.

1905  Vachell,  The Hill.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.