Dick's Pics

By RichardDonkin

Out of the woods

Not yet, sadly. Not nearly there. But whatever the future, I couldn't see this place go without saying thank you for the blip-ride so that's my personal rationale for pledging.

My blogs predate my time on blip and while I love the fraternity of this place, I'm going to focus a one-a-day effort this year, if possible, on my DonkinLife blog which I can maintain free from any worries that it could close down in the coming weeks. I don't mind the solitary nature of a personal blog and actually feel it is liberating. I've never been that keen on being judged as if I'm competing with others for popularity. That's not my thing. Also I can look back on my blogs whereas I expect that will not be an option if this place closes as it surely will if we fail to reach the target, or if no alternative business model emerges.

Psychologically I feel better for pledging - gives me a seat at the table so to speak - but I would not blame anyone for refraining to do the same. I don't like the "us and them" feel I'm getting from some who have pitched in and the pressure on some who haven't borders on proselytising. Frankly such pressure would have the reverse effect on me.

Blipfoto can still be saved, I'm convinced, but I don't think the will or the cash is there among enough of the membership. It needs something extra. What that might be, I have no idea, but I think we can be all agreed that it's a crying shame if this place ends up as nothing but a blip in the ever-changing universe of social media. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.