Feeding time for pukeko chicks

I imagine it is probably feeding time most of the day.
This is the third day I have been to see the pukeko chicks. The first day Trev and I were  just out for a walk and didn't have the camera. The next day they wouldn't come out of the grass. Third time lucky,today  I managed to get some images. A flying bird spooked them and they all struggled through the grass and paddled acoss the creek which gave me better viewing.
I had only seen three the other days but today there were five. Mum and Dad both busy tearing up grass and feeding the chicks. It seemed that with the smallest ones they dribbled digested grass into them. The slightly bigger ones were clawing at the grass themselves.
I hadn't realised their beaks were white to begin with. Of course the big feet keep them balanced.
A couple of extras. One very blurry of them paddling.
These did not convert at all well to mono even though I had just watched the Lightroom video on how to do it.So sticking with colour.
I'll probably be back there tomorrow as well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.