2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Surrounded by legends

I was surrounded by legends when this was taken

The first legend is my good friend Mick Hall, who is often seen at races behind the camera taking photos of people putting the effort in.

Thanks to Mick for letting me share this great photo.

The other legends are Mick n Phil the marathon lads.

I first met these two legends around 13 or 14 years ago when they came to a race I was volunteering on.

A couple of years later they asked if they could take part at Freckleton. I had no hesitation in saying "Yes" and to this day there is a guest place for them simply because we can do that, and they deserve it.

Phil was born with severe disabilities and Mick loved to run

One day his wife said "If you're going running you can take Phil with you!"

The rest is history. They have travelled the length and breadth of the country and it's always a joy to see them.

Phil loves to be pushed round a course, though he's not as light as he used to be so Mick works harder than ever to push him

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.