Pictorial blethers

By blethers

From the Kingston Bridge

I fully intended to take more photos of my home city today, but it was so cold once we were out of the car that resolve failed me - and I think Mr PB might have abandoned me if I'd stopped. However, as we crossed Glasgow's Kingston Bridge in the morning, I snapped this one downriver to the slanty bridge you see in the background of BBC Scotland News - one of many additions to the cityscape in the years since I left Glasgow.

We were discussing whether after over 40 years we still felt at home in the cities we grew up in; I don't feel particularly so, partly because I have no-one left there any more, and partly because parts of the city have changed so much. I've mentioned before how much more crowded it feels with empty spaces where I used to play in old air-raid shelters now built over with desirable flats and the streets so full of cars there would be little room to play there, and the roads are so different that unless I'm on foot or in a bus I'd never get anywhere.

That aside, you could have had a photo of a storm trooper from Star Wars - one of the ones in white, with the full-face helmet, was standing in the foyer of the cinema in which our morning ended. Great movie, but I'd have felt a bit daft taking the photo ...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.