Realgrumpytyke

By Realgrumpytyke

Sod the weather - I'm off (in a bit)

Yet another grey, dreary, extremely damp day and the anticipation of my quarterly enormous needle in the stomach at noon didn't help, so I filled the time booking a month+ in Romania in the summer (in fact, thanks to the lovely, and skilful, Sister Jackie the needle hardly hurt at all).
A couple of days ago, when I said I regretted not being part of the blip family when we made our trip to and around Romania last summer, one blipper suggested I might put in some 'extras' from the trip. So, having now booked for this coming summer I thought I'd do just that.
Last summer we I drove to and around Romania (4,350 miles) but this time we'll fly and hire a car there.
We stayed for a week on a small campsite which the delightful Parau family have in what is effectively their back garden (extra 1, Iulian offering me the welcoming palinka - 70+% alcohol - Alexandra and Iulian's mum Elena; there's a tiny one too who I'll be sure to blip this year, she'll be one year old).
This year we'll stay in the house (extra 2) which they run as a pensiune (B&B). It's in the delightful small town of Saliste, close to European cultural capital Sibiu, in the heart of Transylvania and the Fagaras mountains.
We'll catch as many cultural events as we can, visiting craftsmen like Alexandru (extra 3), large ladies cooking beans (extra 4) and we'll certainly see Silviu and Paula (extra 5  - my favourite photo from last summer, children of a friend of one of Petronela's university student colleagues).
Of course, Petronela (extra 6) will be keeping me in order this year as she will not be distracted, terrified, as I negotiate multiple steep mountain hairpins in the dark and torrential rain in the 40 year old camper, as last year).
Of course we'll be staying some time much further north, visiting Petronela's 93 year old grandmother (extra 7), staying in my old stamping ground, the Bucovina, with my unofficial bunica (grandmother - she's a year younger than me) in 'our' bedroom overlooking Rarau mountain (extra 8), climbing the Rodnei mountain passes (extra 9, Prislop).
If you wander through the extras you'll understand why I say Romania is a blipper's paradise.
Can't wait. Got to keep blipfoto going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.