Amaryllis

Christmas decorations have been boxed up and the house is almost back to normal. This amaryllis kindly opened up today and so I placed it where the Christmas tree was sitting to bring a bit of colour to the room.
I find the Amaryllis a strange beauty. They do nothing for such a long time, there is very little foliage and when they do start to show there is something a bit triffid-like about them. When they finally flower though they are amazing with such a range of colours. 
My mother always had them at Christmas time and seem to have a lot of success in getting them to a massive height and flowering at the right time. Sadly I never managed to get her tips for success so I will keep trying.
My voice seems to be returning after a bug developed. So I've missed a few social engagements. On a positive note, my new year diet is going well as it's been liquid only. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.