Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

SW 6th @ Madison

So here we have phone booth #4, although to call it a "booth" seems not quite accurate as there's nothing booth or kiosk about it. After class I met my husband for a coffee, while waiting at this MAX stop outside his office on SW 6th, I encountered this sleek, modern incarnation of the public pay phone. Since the newest MAX lines going through downtown opened new street furniture has been installed at these stops. I can see why they went for this look, pretty hard to vandalize, except I couldn't help thinking that this would be a drag to use in the rain.

The MAX train in the background runs between Portland State University out to the Expo Center in North Portland on the edge of the Kenton neighborhood.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.