Recycled hockey sticks

I carry my camera on my long morning walks hoping that I will see something blip-worthy. Today I drew a blank until I walked a couple hundred feet further than normal and saw these hockey sticks acting as tomato supports in the garden

That got me thinking about what happens to hockey sticks when they die. There must be thousands, if not hundreds of thousands, of hockey sticks discarded every year in Canada. Hockey is everywhere here. The sticks are very well-made and it would be a shame not to re-use them.

A search on the web turned up several interesting uses including a coat rack and floor lamp. Imagine what you could do with a few thousand hockey sticks. I suppose I could put them in my shed with all the other "useful" things I am saving in case I ever need them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.