Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

On the way home

We returned home tonight from a family vacation week in Durango CO. I guess I am glad to have something other than my iPhone (on the other hand, less computer time is rather refreshing!) We are also happy to be in a cooler place. I think this global warming thing is upon us!

This is our grandson Oskar. He's 7. He's running the wrong direction on the moving sidewalk at the Denver airport. He is incredibly family oriented and could hardly wait for this trip to see Grampa's brother's son G (who is 36!) He has met him before and has a real bond with him. Oskar is always very interested in who "has the same DNA" - he told me I could share his drink because I was "family". He has been known to tell embellished stories of past generation family tragedies (prompting phone calls from teachers who want to get the story straight). He is a very loving, generous and sensitive little boy! We loved spending this time with him and his brother and cousin.

We are a very small family. I am an only child and my husband has one brother, T who lives in Durango with his wife MA and son G from his first marriage. There is one other son of his who lives in Kansas. We have 2 sons, each with a wife and 2 children. We were thinking about just taking the 3 older grandchildren to Durango but most of the parents wanted to come too - so it was a very fun reunion! (all but 2 yo Fiona and her Mom who had to work. and were sorely missed.) We had a great time seeing lots of mountain sights and learning a bit about this part of the west. But the best part was just hanging out together with family. Oskar has it right!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.