9/11: September 11, 2001

That day I had gone into work just before 8CT to find employees huddled over a TV watching the news live. One building was on fire and it had supposedly been hit by a small plane. Not much later, the second plane hit the other tower. I can remember thinking to myself why? Why is this happening? Why would anyone do this? ... Then the first tower fell. I'm thinking how? Is this for real? Then the second tower...news reports quickly pointed toward OBL. I was only 20 years old - I didn't know who OBL was nor what he and his organization was about. What I did know was that I felt sick to my stomach and left work that day before lunch. Classes were cancelled that evening, all flights were grounded, and the world would never be the same. We were fortunate enough to tour the 9/11 Memorial and Museum on NYE morning and early afternoon where almost 3000 not so fortunate, innocent lives were taken by terrorists. Words cannot express my sympathies. However, no matter how hard they tried, "no day shall erase you from the memory of time." - Virgil. The firefighters, expectant mothers, children, spouses, rescue workers, etc. The picture captures the South Tower memorial, the fire fighter memorial, and a recovered fire truck. The mangled steel was recovered from the north tower and its origin is traced to high jacked Flight 11's Impact point. There were at least 4 other items that stuck with me. One of a Girl Scout from group 175 who was heading to California to be honored; she was on the fateful Flight 175. Another was a baby girl that put stickers on her favorite stuffed animals; a stuffed rabbit with stickers was recovered from the wreckage. Furthermore, only 40% of the victims have been identified by DNA, some from bodies, but mostly from partial remains. Lastly, a husband and wife, both previously married and divorced, vowed to carry 2 dollar bills on their person. The bills represented a second chance together; the husbands wallet was recovered with the 2 dollar bill. It took almost a year to clean up and sort the wreckage. I will never forget.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.