Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Tawny Scrawny Frogmouth

Well thank goodness the weather has cleared and now as I am posting this the sun has come out.  I should have blipped a dove with an olive branch I think.  Oh and the wind was not fierce enough to bring down trees so the power stayed on.   Time for things to dry out including me and HP (Hamish and Poppy).  When I have walked Hamish down to the park, there is a tree under which he particularly likes to roll in the grass.    I walked over to the spot a couple of days ago and noticed a Tawny Frogmouth in the tree above.  The next day there were two.  With the deluge yesterday I didn't go out other than for pit stops for Poppy but when I walked him this morning they were there again so I went back with the camera.  They are not owls but part of the night jar family.  Most of the time they elongate their bodies and pretend to be a branch.  Their feathers are perfect camouflage.  You can see from this why they get called frogmouth.

A milestone with Poppy.  I left her out with Hamish while I walked to the park and again when I went shopping.  I was very pleased to see the both of them happy when I returned and Hamish had a good play with her this afternoon.  He will be cleaning her face soon enough I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.