Where the Light Gets In

By DHThomas

Noodles, rice, rice, tea

noodles rice rice tea
and jars of fruity spirits
man walks by - winter

Today marks the first anniversary of the Charlie Hebdo assassinations. I can't help but think of it, of course, but at the same time, what happened on 13 November tends to blur the way I perceive what happened then. I can still say Je suis Charlie, but freedom of speech is not the only thing that's been targeted of late. I haven't stopped missing Bernard Maris's voice on the radio, but this time the dead were much closer to me, some of them being friends of friends.

Tomorrow will be the anniversary of the assassination of a Paris policewoman by the same man who held customers hostages in a kosher shop the day after. What terrible three days we had then.

More.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.