For Literary Blippers

When I was a somewhat naive lad of 17 (respectable working class, first generation Grammar School - although I left it at 16) I used to read books by authors like Virginia Woolf. I can't remember enjoying them but I recall believing that if I read enough of them I might become an intellectual. This was the height of my ambition although I doubted I would ever live in Bloomsbury.

Also at this time I realised that I would not get far in life if I went round talking about t'radio. So I successfully used that very medium to learn how to speak proper. My principal tutors were John Snagge, Alvar Lidell and Stuart Hibberd.

Whilst I might not have understood too much of "To the Lighthouse" I certainly understood and enjoyed the Virginia Woolf quotation which I found this morning in very agreeable surroundings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.