Winter?

I needed some time away and wanted to go to my favourite area,  the province Drenthe, in the northeast of Holland.  A mindful area,  just what I need right now.  Unfortunately winter decided to arrive here,  a few days ago.  Even today we got a code red,  dangerous roads because of the ice.  I hoped it wasn't as bad as that and went on to drive here.  I got here okay.  The main roads were good.  But my bed and breakfast is located at a road that is pure ice. After my arrival it started thawing,  so no worries for the rest of my stay,  which will last till Sunday or Monday.

The reason I needed a break is also the reason I haven't blipped for some time.  My mother suddenly took ill with pneumonia and bladder infection. She was hospitalised on the 18th of December.  After a couple of days it became clear recovery was not likely.  She passed away peacefully in the night to the 23rd of December.  I spent two weeks with two brothers,  staying together. And during the daytime my other brother and my sister as well.  Everything that needed doing is done.  Her goodbye service felt good. But now I need some time to let it sink in. It still feels unreal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.