Christography

By ChrisGroucutt

Dad Calling

A thoroughly modern milestone. For Christmas we promised the eldest one a phone that he can use to contact us, and we, him. We figured the time had just about come, and so we sorted a basic minimal 'pay as you go' contract on one of our old iPhones. 

He's over the moon of course... it seems to be a rite of passage with young'uns, and whilst we try to make sure our two have a balanced life with lots of varied activities, there is no denying the call of modern tech.

And then having set this up for him, and surprising him with his first call, I realised that my name came up on his phone as 'Dad'. I don't know why this hit me as so special, in any sense of of rational real values it's not. And yet it somehow was. 

I'm in at least a hundred phones as my given name, but I'm only in one as Dad. (At least until littlest one grows up a bit). And that strangely enough is 'a thing'. 

Whenever my Dad called me, and I saw those magic three letters shine out, I couldn't fail to answer with a smile. Maybe that's what it is. Across any distance, those three letters on a tiny screen can make a connection that spans oceans, countries and mountains, unquiet the silence and put a smile back in a heart.

I hope that's what those three letters will mean from now on to my little'uns when they see them. 

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.