Sevan

By Sevan

Black Mountain Panorama

On the way buying a new guitar, the woman selling cancelled. Since I was already down in the city centre and on my bike, I thought I might as well check out Black Mountain.

The Botanic Gardens were on the way, so I stopped off there first. I don't think you're meant to, but since it was quiet I took my bike through and ended up getting on a trail to Black Mountain. Cycling up the trail...was not an option. I gave up after about 5 minutes and walked the rest.

The Telstra tower, otherwise known as Black Mountain Tower, can be seen from pretty much anywhere in the city. Struggling to reach the mountain's top, I sort of felt like I was in Stephen King's "Dark Tower" novels (<--- would not recommend). It cost $7.50 to get up to the observation deck (above the revolving restaurant), which I paid after a little thought. I'm a tourist here after all.

In the photo you can see the shadow of the tower looming over the city in the setting sun. 180 degrees in the other direction, there's basically nothingness. It gives you a sense of how isolated Canberra really is.

Cycling down the main road was amazing. The only thing limiting my speed were the cars in front of me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.