The theatre

My Mum trained at RADA as an actress and toured professionally for a while before having a family, when Tom and I were teenagers she returned to acting in an Amateur capacity and was a lively member of Brighton little theatre group and the new venture did a group for many many years and was always in a play. Norman also sang professionally for time before he has his family.
I had an early morning meeting at the home with the home manager and the lead nurse to discuss some issues and suggestions, it was very positive and I felt that I was listened to and that what I had to say was taken seriously and something will be done.. Overall I am very happy with the nursing home that was my mother would not still be there but there is definitely room for improvement in some areas, mainly communication, my mother's needs are quite specific and her illness is quite rare but they need to find a more effective ways of all staff knowing exactly what she needs especially at mealtimes.
Then the speech therapist arrived and I spent an hour with them and my mother helping her to communicate and discussing her needs, they gave her this alphabet board which also has symbols inside such as a happy face, sad face, a toilet, some fruit et cetera… She was keen to try it out on Norman who is deaf and he was very patient and supportive and she was able to spell out several words for him by pointing to the letters. I have bought her a special cup to help with her drinking and an angled spoon!

I walked back through bushy Park to clear my head, it was a lovely cold crisp day.

Later on I met Phil Marriott in town, we went to ITSU on the Strand before going on to the Savoy Theatre where we had pressed tickets to see guys and dolls at the musical!
We will be reviewing it on our forthcoming podcast but I will say it was great!
We nipped into the retro bar afterwards for a drink.
So nice to see Phil again , I always enjoy spending time with him, we always make each other laugh, he is great company and full of ideas.

Phil's other half Jeremy texted him for bog roll and Max texted me for cough medicine....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.