Bawtry

Had to go to the bank today. Nearest one now is in the next village of Bawtry. I spotted this old building clearly built in 1890. Wondered what it's original function might be and in my little book of old pictures I got the following details:

This was originally The Town or Public Hall. It cost £1100 to erect and could hold 450 people at functions, it was often let out for entertainments, the building contained a reading room and was well supplied with daily, monthly and weekly newspapers and periodicals. It later became the Bawtry Working Men's club and Institute.

So a grand history!

Weekend here after a long week for me. Beginning to feel more myself at last though still lacking energy and need constant pain relief, off to see Mum on Sunday so hopefully will be up to that and a busy week next week. hey ho!

Have a great weekend folks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.