Photographic musings

By Wheeliebloke

Aylesbury Vale Sunset

So the 3 Bob Challenge has changed slightly. Instead of taking it in turns to think of a theme, we're working through the alphabet, starting today. If I'm honest, I like a bit more of a specific theme because it's easier for me to get ideas. If it's too broad a theme, I can't easily decide. So, it might be a good thing for me, we'll see. 

I live in the Vale of Aylesbury, on the edge of the Chiltern Hills. There are some scenic spots around and the one I chose (I know I've blipped it before) is Coombe Hill. The monument is a memorial to the Second Boer War and is a very popular well known landmark. I had the idea of shooting up there to get a sunset pic. I missed the sunset because I had other things to do but I hung around to see how the sky changed. The car park is a 5 or 10 minute push from the monument and is on the leeward side of the hill. Just before I got to the monument, as I come on to the crest the wind hit me. It was pretty chilly. I set up the tripod and positioned it, took a few shots, tried a couple with the light that Flashcube recommended, trying to illuminate the monument a little. 

After the tripod nearly blew over and I was getting cold (I left my hat and gloves in the car, oops), I decided to head back, I'd been there about an hour. On the way, I thought I'd try another shot, handheld this time because I didn't wanna muck about setting up the tripod again. See the extra I've added today. 

The main shot had a little bit of processing because there were some rain spots on the lens. I cloned them out. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.