Best laid plans ...

This morning after the school run, I went to the supermarket for my twice weekly shop.  I decided to try to eat a bit healthier and bought loads of fresh fruit and veg.  As Friday is POETS' day (Piss Off Early, Tomorrow's Saturday) I figured I'd have plenty time to make myself a nice meal instead of heating up a pizza or ready meal as I usually do.

I also decided, as it had at last stopped raining, after what seems like weeks, I would take my camera with me on the afternoon and try for a blip on the way home.

Alas, things were not to be.  It was cold but still dry when I left the depot, but when I was sitting at Kelso High School, the snow started.  By the time I got to Yetholm, it was starting to lie on the road and by the time I got back to St Boswells, the A68 was nose to tail and chaos reigned.

Our services have a lot of connections out on the road with other buses and with the A68 blocked by a stuck Lorry, nothing was moving, so I ended up working on for almost three hours, just doing shuttle services so passengers weren't waiting out in the cold.

By the time I got back to the depot and my camera, it was dark!   This is a photo I took with my phone when traffic was at a standstill waiting to get onto the A68 at St Boswells.  It looks so dark but it was on my way back from the afternoon school run and it was taken before three o'clock.

Oh aye, and I had a Chinese for tea!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.