A change of scene

Another late night spent watching the football and sitting in front of a log fire was the reason for my late start today. The rain was back, again, and as I waited to see if was likely to stop, Pat and I chewed the cud with some strong coffee. I had planned to take the long way round, to visit the seashore somewhere around Lyme Regis, before heading off to stay with my friend Helen and her two sons.

But the weather worsened so I decided to dawdle with Pat for a while longer and then head directly to Milverton in Somerset. The journey is through very pretty landscapes and I usually take the back roads to see more of the countryside. But by the time I set off there was fog on the hills leading away from Frampton on the Crewkerne road and there were large puddles of water on the roadside which created a few problems.

Beyond Chard, I tried a new route for me, up to and through the ancient woodlands of Neroche on the top of the Blackdown Hills, just south of Taunton. I have been there before and noticed the wonderful ancient landscape still as it must have been for millennia, with huge wood banks, tall trees growing from their large stools and massive canopies of leaves covering the narrow lanes and holloways. I found a place to park in a muddy patch deep in the woodlands amidst the murk and the gloom. I took a few pictures, but in the rain I didn't feel like hanging about to try to correct for all the exposure issues. I will be back, yet again.

When I got to Helen's house on the edge of the village I had time for a quick cup of tea before I rang a friend of hers from the village whom I had offered to possible help with his back-up problems for his Macs. Julian picked me up and took me back to his house, but I'm afraid I wasn't much help, but it was good to meet him and I told him about blipfoto.

When he dropped me back at Helen's he popped in or c few minutes and I picked my camera and snapped a two picture of him. He has said I could use one as my blip for the day, so thank you Julian!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.