Life from a City

By LeggeAngie

Flood Remains

While my son was back at his Saturday morning group, I went for a walk. Great idea - apart from the pouring rain. But I'd wanted to walk along the river, and particularly along the section which had been flooded. Despite the rain, the water has receded. The beer garden from the pub is fenced off and a building site now, and there are still people washing down parts of the paths in the area. There are mounds of sand left in parts, and still some mud. Most of the litter has been removed, apart from this. This is the underneath of Crown Point Bridge - you can see where the fence has been knocked over, and the litter is meshed in. It will take a while to clear that out. But I am impressed at how much has been done. 

The sad news for us is that it has led to the closure of two local museums for now, Armley Mills, which housed its original working steam railway, plus the textile factory, and Thwaite Mills, which is on an island, and about half a mile further down from this shot from a week or so ago. Hopefully the damage to those museums can be repaired, but from what I've been hearing, there may be some expensive flooring repairs to do. 

So I thought this may work for Derelict Sunday, as I hear we can post for this on any day of the week?

I won't inflict all the cat photos I take for the collection in A Year With My Camera on you - blip remains its unique self for diary pictures. I am delighted we are now up to over £113,000.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.