Beyond the Harbour Wall

2.7C starting bright and frosty. Clouding over through the morning with rain arriving by early afternoon. Zephyr.

Maeve the Deerhound and I went through to Arbroath before 9am and had a walk round the harbour. It was freezing and the whole area round the harbour was like an ice rink. I left Maeve in the car and walked and slid my way round towards the Signal Tower museum to try to catch the last of the sunrise colour out to sea beyond the harbour wall.

I came back to the car and got Maeve and we walked round (carefully) to the boatyard. The large fishing boat is still on the slipway. There were a few men fishing with rods from the harbour wall, casting out into the open sea. How they do it in freezing temperatures I just don't know. My hands freeze after a minute or two out of my gloves when taking photos. The lock gate to the inner harbour was closed so we could walk back to the car in a loop round the inner harbour. The water level was very low, low tide having been two hours before. Lots of boats were moored in the inner harbour today.

Maeve and I went for a walk after lunch. Radio 2 on the Nano. Just a 2 mile loop down to the shore road and round the main road and back home. The rain came on after we had gone about half a mile.

DMC-LX7 f/2.8 1/640 sec. ISO-80 5mm (35mm focal length 24mm)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.