Take the Floor

I listened to a recording of last night's'Take the Floor' this afternoon, from BBC Scotland.  In it was a tribute to Norrie Williams featuring his son-inlaw and his grandson, and playing some of Norrie's music.

Norrie lived just over the road; he was an icon both on the Scottish dance music scene and in our local church scene.   He was for ten years our church officer, taking on the job at the age of seventy when he retired until he turned eighty.......and his wife Sheila and he were both church elders, Sheila being mine.

He played at our country dance sessions in our church in the summer, while Sheila took the class, and did that for many years until Sheila became unable to take the class.

A few years ago my walking club were going to France and were asked to dance some Scottish country dances.....in the city hall!   I went to Norrie and asked his advice and he provided me with a tape of music to dance to and gave me the confidence to lead the team.

They were a fantastic couple, and at his funeral in our church in November there were people standing around the walls and in the corridors, all paying their respects.  

He was a good friend and a fantastic man, and I wanted to record it here, in my diary.......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.