OrcadesDays

By Orc2009

Iron wheel and daisies

Chamomile maybe. It's generally been a foggy old week and I felt sorry for visitors coming all the way here and not being able to see more than a few hundred metres at a time. Today was bright, though you could still see the mist in the distance. I went out to Tankerness. I got on the bus in Kirkwall and heard a visitor ask the driver for a return. 'Where to?' he asked. 'Here', she replied.
I walked along Mill Sand to the mill, along the road and across a field to the shore, then along the Tang of Beeman and to the old cannon at Gumpick where I made coffee. I watched three arctic skuas and a great skua all gang up on a gull before the arctics then turned on the great. I carried on past the Bacon Tub- a great hole that just appears in the ground leading to a sea-cave, then on to Lea Taing before getting back to the road heading for the bus. More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.