Escape From Sector 7-G

By craigL

Fallen Hero

in 1976 when I was eleven years old my big sister got married. 

Her husband was a David Bowie fan, and had the complete collection so I inherited her copies of Ziggy Stardust, Aladdin Sane and Diamond Dogs.

To this day, Ziggy Stardust is hands down my favourite album, from the slow opening drumbeat of 'Five Years' to the closing orchestral flourish of 'Rock and Roll Suicide'...I know every lyric and moment by heart. 
I too became a David Bowie completist, and through all my musical evolutions from punk to metal to indie to alt, and everything in between, he remains my favourite musical artist.
I was lucky enough to see him live in 1983, I had to sleep on pavement all night to get tickets.
I am also lucky enough to have spent forty years listening to his music.

So it was a bit of a shock to hear the news today.....had he continued on, I am sure he had a few more surprises up his sleeve.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.