TrishaR

By TrishaR

Great Aunt Jane

This is a picture of my grandpa's sister, Jane Cowper. There were only two girls in a family of 13 boys! I didn't know Jane, as I think she died of the Spanish Flu, but I'm researching that. I did know, and love very much my Great Aunt Nina, who was a Matron in the Southern General hospital in Glasgow. I found this picture when I was raking through some of mum's old pictures. I love looking at old photos and wondering about the stories behind them.

On a sad note, I couldn't believe I had heard correct when I thought I heard the newsreader talk about David Bowie this morning. I remember being introduced to him by my friend Janice Orr, waaaay back in the early 70s. I recall sitting watching Top of the Pops one night back then and Bowie came on and I said to Dad as we were sitting in the sofa, him reading the paper and me glued to the tv, that I loved this song (Starman). Dad put down his paper and stared at the screen and said 'Is that a man or a woman' - he didn't get him, well he was a different generation! So many wonderful songs, with memories attached to them over the years. Under Pressure, for instance always reminds me of a cold December in 81 when I was heavily pregnant, and then two weeks overdue, and it was all I heard on the radio. That and Don't you want me Baby, by the Human League.

More recently, when we were in Berlin with Gillian we talked about his time there with Iggy Pop and we would frequently break into song - had to take the train.... To Potsdamer Platz.. Where are we now.... His time in Berlin was a fascinating story. And the concert there singing Heroes to both sides of the wall. Amazing. Nicer Christmas we watched a music documentary narrated by Jarvis Cocker about Ziggy Stardust and the Spiders from Mars album and the story behind it. Brilliant. It's still on bbc4 if anyone wants to check it out. He will be so missed but the music he has left is his legacy for generations past and present. His music, more than anyone, has been a soundtrack of my life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.