We Could Steal Time, Just for One Day

What a shock this morning to read the news of the passing of David Bowie. For me (Chris), he's one of the first musicians that really had an impact on what I listened to. I can distinctly remember first the sounds and then the video to "Ashes to Ashes" (seen on Top of the Pops of course). It made a lasting impression that quickly lead me to discovering more electronic music through artists it directly influenced. I guess that was acts like Gary Numan and the other new wave acts that were synthesizer based and just a bit off the wall. Still love those sounds now.

After work I headed over to Heddon Street and the alley where the iconic Ziggy Stardust album sleeve cover shot was taken. You can't take that view anymore, too many restaurants with outdoor tables in the way. It didn't matter though as there were lots of people there to recognise the moment. Bowie tracks were being played out loud and various media teams were on the scene including Italian tv trying to do a live outside broadcast. I was patient, waited for an opportunity and took my photos. A plaque proudly notes the significance of the location (see the extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.