Monday: The White Duke

Like everyone else I know, I was stunned to hear of David Bowie's death this morning.  He was so ever present for someone of my generation - always seeming relevant and never out of time.  

This isn't, of course, a statue of the White Duke.  It's just a bust in 'Hemingway's', where I had coffee this afternoon.  The person I had coffee with didn't know about David Bowie - I told her.  

--------------------------------------------------------------------------

And sticking with influential icons, Patti Smith's 'M Train' has been pretty life-changing.  It wasn't so much of an epiphany, rather her knowledge, openness to everything and her love of the random and the obscure which has given me real food for thought.  I was amazed at how many coincidences came up while I was reading - she referenced so many things that I have just very recently seen or read, right down to a very specific episode of 'Luther' that I watched just a couple of weeks ago. I am not quite sure what it means but it make for a terrific reading experience when things resonate.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.