Walking with Flowers

By SusannaHelen

David's Mum

My favourite David Bowie image comes from an exhibition put on at the Bath Museum of Fashion in 2008/9 by Iain R. Webb. Webb's tribute to fashion designer Bill Gibb included memorabilia from Webb's teenage years. He was a Bowie fan and in 1976 had written to his hero. David's Mum replied because David was away filming Nicolas Roeg's The Man Who Fell To Earth. The text of her letter (top right) reads:
"Thanking you again for your kind thought. Bless you, Margaret M. Jones David's Mum PS Keep this letter to yourself as I do not want to be inundated with fan mail Thank You" I've always loved this sweet human touch. My school friend Sally also used to draw fabulous pictures of David's album covers and send them to him as a love offering. He sent her a nice letter of thanks, too. What an astonishing talent he had.

This is apparently my 1500th continuous blip and I am planning to take a break from the daily photo. May blip occasionally - especially when I'm up on Shetland and can post something more interesting, if blipfoto is still around!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.