Red-head

My wish for sun was granted for a few hours this morning, and I took advantage of it to go down to the river to explore. For once I thought ahead and put my wellies on, which meant that I could gently wade my way through the flooded sky-strewn paths of the Boardwalks Nature reserve, at least until the water came treacherously close to their tops (see extra).  

I was quite alone among the water and the reeds, as the usual dog-walkers and joggers had, entirely sensibly,  retreated to the high ground. As I proceeded very slowly, feeling my way with my feet, I heard the gentle chatter of birds, and soon came across a mixed flock of finches and tits, feeding on last year's seeds. 

This lesser redpoll, one of a pair, was far too engrossed in foraging on the fluffy great willowherb seeds to notice me, so I was able to approach quite close. I stayed watching and photographing it until the sun disappeared behind yet another steely rain cloud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.