A Blip a day keeps the Dr away.

Yesterdays events sent me in to a spin this morning. Bowie was noted for his lack of publicity seeking in his private life so why do I need to Blip my life, lay open all my warts, wounds, highs and lows from the past & present? I came to the conclusion that he was able to let it all out in his songs and Blip is my silent "shrink". Perhaps when the day comes that I have a few hundred screaming Blip groupies standing at the front door, I might review the situation.

So for now, Blip remains my daily therapy - for all those buskers in cities worldwide or any ex-Pat feeling alone with no one around to let it all out on in your mother tongue, I recommend you visit the BlipFuture website and pledge or donate a few of your hard sung pennies and cents to secure this vital part of the national health service.

I also for a few seconds wondered who my children be "mourning" in 30 years time? Jason & Kylie? Will they get out their copy of the Birdie Song and post it on Facebook. No, just as my generation won't with the Monkees or the Archie's Sugar Sugar even if we turn up the dial a notch when it comes on the car radio and belt it out, causing the dogs to cover their ears.

Every generation has it's heroes and it's special memories but I keep thinking music was of very special importance to the post WWII generation. I guess today's teenagers will have plaques with their "Highest Xbox Score".

On the morning dog walk I thought I would Blip this so called "Flurdenkmal" - Field Cross - which are very common here and try to find out what these people were facing in 1902 when they asked God's blessing for their fields.

I suspect the news of 17th June 1902 that Norwich Football Club had been established hadn't arrived, despite Mr Nathan Stubblefield presenting the first mobile phone to the world that year. I know you all think that he has now truly gone totally bonkers - field cross, 1902 mobile phone, stubble field!?!? Well just hit this link and apologise. Wikipedia doesn't record if the population was humming to Richard Wagner, a particular favourite of Bavaria's King Ludwig II who had led this area in to it's last war in 1870/1. In fact the population had enjoyed peace since then after centuries of bloodshed and were probably looking forward to decades of peace to come ...........

Tomorrow I might just write a bit on why Blip is good for history learning.

Oh and as to the Blip - it was freezing cold, literally, having snowed in the morning and as I took the photo it was hailing. I was trying to repeat my blurred background discovery from last week but gave up with frozen fingers. I suspect the Field Cross automatically corrected my attempts to get a blur to hide the building behind - blessed me with proper "field of view" a technical problem Nogbad had commented as being the source of the blur.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.