Gillipaw's Journal

By Gillipaw

DOUG - Turner Prize 2015 Exhibition

I finally made it down to The Tramway in Glasgow to see the exhibits of the four finalists in the 2015 exhibition. The show ends this Sunday 17 January.

The winners were Assemble, a collective based in London, and I would agree with the judges.

Those in the know will realise this exhibit 'DOUG' by Janice Kerbel has to be my Blip for today. Unaccompanied voices (from Scottish Opera) sing about catastrophic events that befall an imagined being. Nine songs for six voices, which progress through a series of disasters - Blast, Fall, Hit, Choke, Bear, Crash, Strike, Sink, Slip.

The performances take place every half hour between 1pm and 3.30pm. Superb singing, glad I was able to hear some of it.

Not sure what I thought about the fur coats sewn around Bauhaus chairs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.