Bridge over the river

We went to the big island today because G was scheduled for cataract surgery.  All went well.  He's looking forward to having clear vision in his left eye again.  He always had sharp vision until a few years ago when he had to wear reading glasses.   Still hasn't got used to them.  He's not sure if he'll have to continue wearing them or not. 
It was such a dreary day, foggy and pouring rain.  I was lucky to get a couple of photos.  This is the railway bridge over the Cowichan River, and the tracks run very close to the old Cowichan Campus of Vancouver Island University where I worked for almost 20 years.  My classroom faced the tracks and the whole building rattled when the train went by.  I'd have to stop whatever was happening until it passed.  Same when I was in my office because if I was on the phone, the person on the other end wouldn't be able to hear me, and my office was on the other side of the building.  Once I was interviewing an older applicant for the program, and when the train went by, he jumped out of the chair and braced himself in the doorway because he thought it was an earthquake.  Good that he had an idea of what to do just in case!
The extra is the main entrance to the campus.  It's on reserve, on Cowichan Tribes land, and I don't know what's in the building now.  I didn't have time to check if it was open.  It is looking a little rundown though. 
Back into Duncan tomorrow for a post-op checkup.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.