TheDouglas

By TheDouglas

Walking around my local lake

Most days I take a walk around this lake; the river Ver runs parallel to the left hand side of the lake as seen here.

The lake is always teeming with birds. The main attraction is a large heronry on an island (out of sight at the far end), that usually hosts about 20 pairs of nesting birds.

There are loads of resident Canada Geese, Coots, Moorhens, Swans, Tufted Ducks and Mallards. Very often we see Grebes, Shovellers, Greylags, Cormorants and many more. There are hundreds of Black Headed Gulls in the winter months, and Pied and Grey Wagtails and Swallows in summer, and of course always Pigeons, Doves, Magpies, Crows and Blackbirds.

Three times around the lake and up to the Cathedral and back gives me a lovely 5k walk and, come rain or shine; it's a great start or end to the day.

I love my lake!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.