Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

A day at the beach

I dreamt about Star Wars last night. I am still not over how pathetic it was. This morning I checked the Internet Movie Database (IMDb) reviews. And yes, though it got universally good reviews from the media, every single user review slated it. They mostly gave it one star, only because they weren't allowed to award none! And they were mostly Star Wars fans who really wanted to like it. Why the huge disparity? Remind me to check user reviews on the IMDb next time.

The weather looked promising today, so after a few chores, I decided to take Archie out for an adventure - something we haven't done for quite a while. The Hill? The Hermitage of Braid? The Valley Park? Summerhall? No - the beach!

So a couple of buses later (the bus driver laughed when we eventually got off - Archie scrabbling up the corridor, yelping with delight till he leapt out). But what joy when he saw the beach! He ran to and fro, hither and thither, far and wide - non stop for a couple of hours. Plenty of other dogs to meet, to hold their ball for a while then give it back, seagulls taunting him, seaweed to throw around, sand to dig in.

There was no wind, so it was just lovely. I looked in on my pal Betty on the off-chance, but she wasn't there. I walked right along the beach, slowly, and rewarded myself with a crispy bacon bap and coffee at the wee caravan, and got a liver muffin for Arch, though he only got wee bits. Dogs go crazy for these things! This wee whippet, Ellie, (see extra) kept popping her head up at my table. Sweet. I was very popular along the beach after that - every dog for miles around could smell it in my pocket (even though it was in a plastic bag).

Archie would run quite far away, and I'd use my whistle to summon him back. At speed. He's developed the rather alarming habit of charging right at me and stopping himself by ramming both paws on my sore knee. I need to get quicker at sidestepping him at the last moment...

JR came to meet us when she had finished work, so we had a lift home, instead of two buses back. And Archie wasn't sick. A grand day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.