kiz75

By kiz75

Super-chilly-fragile-icy-exidiopsis effusa.

Been seeing a lot of this stuff on my usual dog walking route. I have photographed it on a few occasions over the last few weeks owing to it's strange appearance. The larger image on the left was today's real blip image, but I've added the other three smaller images taken over the last 2/3 weeks.
I have just discovered it's known as hair ice (also known as frost beard and ice wool) and isn't very common. I only found out when a BBC news item online covered it a few days ago following its discovery in a wood in Callander.
The strange, candy floss look is caused by a fungus called exidiopsis effusa.
The ice only appears on wood which has fungus growing in it and there also needs to be exactly the right combination of humidity and temperature. Pretty cool! :-)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-35280155

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.