Northern Exposure

By Northern

White Sand?

No matter how long I live here, somehow I doubt I will ever get used to seeing snow on the beach. I know it's cold down there but somehow I can't help associating sand with heat.

It has a strange beauty about it. And that faint crunch that your foot makes as you break through the snow into the soft sand is a very odd sensation.

The forecast for the weekend isn't good. Most of the boats are cancelled and I believe the post may not get out this afternoon as the planes may be grounded too (if the post don't make it out it is bad weather indeed). Everyone has had one eye on the sky all day and there is an air of expectancy all over.

High tide will be around 6pm this evening so fingers crossed the worst winds don't come until later as Steven will be heading homeward on the bus around then. I am not even going to attempt to go to dancing later, I think we shall all be happy have a cosy evening in front of the fire.

Just in case, we have emergency supplies laid in... lashings of ginger beer, chocolate and wine!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.