Up and Down

That title works for these birds, and for me, too, as I've felt under the weather today. Perhaps I have a cold coming on -- time will tell.

This flashy Spotted Towhee seems to be admiring the Dark-eyed Junco's fast approach to our new, squirrel-proof feeder. The extra photo shows a female Downy Woodpecker; she's recently discovered our other suet feeder, at the top of a long post. 

Today I saw one of our resident Eastern Gray Squirrels sitting contently on top of the feeder on that long post; he'd apparently launched himself from the squirrel-proof feeder onto the post, and clambered up.

I wish everyone on Blipfoto was as persistent about adding their pledge(s)to the fund to save this wonderful community as that squirrel was about reaching the bird feeder! If you haven't yet pledged, please do so SOON! If you've already done that, but find yourself with a bit of extra money this week, make an additional pledge. Thank you!

(P.S. It was fascinating to read in the comments on my blip for yesterday how many of us grew "gardens" from carrot tops as children!)

Blip 1456

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.