Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

Beach Boy

No, we're not having a heatwave on Merseyside! Actually, it's colder than it's been for a while and there's a ferocious hailstorm going on as I type. We've just had some thunder and lightning too. Just as I was thinking of going out for my evening constitutional...

This afternoon I escaped the weather at Liverpool World Museum where I attended a meeting of our snappily named Black, Asian, Minority Ethnic and Refugee Mental Health Strategy Group - mercifully known as the BAMER Group for short!

The genuinely snappily named Zorro is a stalwart of the group and works at Mary Seacole House, a local voluntary organisation which provides mental health support to Black and Minority Ethnic people, and others. If you don't know about Mary Seacole (voted the Greatest Black Briton in a 2004 poll) it's well worth checking her biog out at https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Mary_Seacole

Here you see Zorro relaxing in front of a seaside display at the museum. Like him, I'm dreaming of summer!


I was going to link to the theme tune from the TV series Zorro but this is SO much better... www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fm9UbCNvMU4


Oh, go on then, here's the Zorro theme too! www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSFgLacSy9c

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.