It's a baldy bald life!

By DrK

It's a Weedgie Weedge World

Ice again. I was going to cycle up the the station but it seemed a little iffy. I was going over to visit Scottish Cycling for a meeting. The last time I was over at the Sir Chris Hoy velodrome, I hit some sheet ice within sight of my destination and had to be rescued by a friendly van driver. I simply couldn’t stand up.
 
The meeting slightly….well more than slightly, overran but I was a good one, hopefully with some good outcomes in the future. My brain was frazzled so I had a wee walk about with the camera. Light was excellent and there was lots of interesting things to see in the nothingness.
 
The area around Parkhead was developed for the Commonwealth Games and the new buildings were juxtaposed with the unchanged people and poverty in the East End of Glasgow. When I arrived at Dalmarnock Station a guy said something to me, not confrontational, but he was obviously out of it. I simply said “I dunno” and he was cool. The games legacy had not reached him and the few others I saw wondering the streets Some were malnourished, some with a smack habit and some with both.
 
Hope is something many of people in this area don’t seem to have. They seemed resigned to their destiny. Being attacked by subsequent governments as being shirkers who rely on benefits only makes their plight worse. Taking money away from them isn’t an incentive to encourage them to work, as they have no hope anyway. May as well let them rot, eh!
 

I love going to Glasgow. It’s a city that wears it’s heart on it’s sleeve!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.