Clare

By ClareON

These pillars are the remnants of a railway viaduct built in 1863.  They are incredibly well hidden in a small but steep-sided part of the Calder glen. The viaduct was built in 1863, and the railway was closed in the 1930s, although a footway across was left open for a long time after that.The sheer size and the amount of tree growth around them makes them quite hard to photograph. In fact,these are about five kilometers from my house and I had no idea they were there until a few weeks ago. They are so huge and unexpected, and appear out of nowhere in  an otherwise unremarkable little river walk.  I felt like a conquistador coming across the  Macchu Pichu.

I've added a few extras from different angles. Plus a little farm horse, I'm not sure how he got in there.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.