Rebuilding

By RadioGirl

Flower Friday: A Stitch in Time

I had to wait in for a parcel to be delivered today, and by the time it had arrived I just didn't feel like going out - a mixture of the cold temperatures and wanting a bit of solitude and thinking time.

I stitched this flower embroidery in the early 1980's, mostly while waiting in enforced silence to record my scenes in an amateur radio play.  I was part of a group of staff belonging to a section of the BBC Club which allowed us access to many of its studios in the evenings and at weekends, when they weren't needed for broadcasting.  We had a lot of fun acting in, directing, recording and editing our own versions of all sorts of plays, followed by a sociable drink or two in the pub.  Having already become familiar with the studios really helped when some of us eventually applied to become professional sound engineers and producers.  I only discovered after starting work in BBC Radio Drama that, as well as reading the broadsheets from cover to cover, some real actresses also did embroidery between takes.


https://www.blipfuture.com/invest

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.