Effigy

So I was at the market today, and met this family who have diversified beyond the traditional pinatas (which kids beat with sticks until they expel their candied contents) to recognizable cartoon characters, in essence, effigies, and it got me thinking about other effigies which could be designed to let us work out our vicarious aggression/violence against unnamed US presidential candidates and/or other politicians and/or disagreeable characters to be beaten or burned, and I wondered if this was useful catharsis or just violence by another name, so I thought I could check with the community and as you ruminate, you can also think about which effigies you would like to order.

Alternates including a few from the market tour associated with the cooking class I took today (in which no one was harmed.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.