Stanley like you've never seen it!!!

Had a very full on day today, starting with the new bible study with our ladies group. We had some new ladies who are brand spanking new in DB and have found their way to church already, yay.

Then headed into town to pick up my passport from the China visa office, they've very generously given me a three year visa for free :). I must be awesome ;-)

Then we decided, as it was a very rainy day, to head out to Stanley markets, seeing as it's mostly covered. This picture is what it looked like when we got there. Completely dead!!! What a great day to be there as opposed to the usual crowds and pushing and shoving (not really).

The vendors were actually prepared to bargain today, as business was pretty non existent. Stanley, to me, is the best market in HK, and when we first got here, 10 yrs ago, they were happy to bargain, but we have seen this change over the years. Their quality of products has improved but bargaining has not.

Anyway, we enjoyed the quieter market and actually talking to the vendors.

While we were there, Roberto called and asked if we would like to go watch Revanant, as he has some free tickets. So we jumped at the opportunity, seeing as most of the group knew what the movie was about and wanted to see it. I was tagging along!

Took the Stanley express back to Central but we were stuck in a bit of traffic making us late for dinner (we hadn't had any lunch).

Niwah and I got off at Admiralty Station and encountered THE WORST commuter traffic I have ever seen, anywhere. I don't think I walked, I was just pushed all the way, we waited for about 15 trains to pass before we could get on one to go all the way to Kwai Fong! We really covered a lot of HK today.

Got to the movies a few minutes late, as we had to stop and buy some food, and THEN there was the real assault on our eyes. Woah, what an intense movie. I had NO idea what it was about and I did cover my eyes several times throughout the movie. The photography was AMAZING, best ever, but boy oh boy, the movie was not for the faint-hearted. Would love to have your opinion if you do go see it.

Big long day, wet, cold, rainy. Thank you Lord for allowing me to be born in this century (watch the movie and you'll know what I mean).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.