A leap - Lumiere London

What an inspiration, to fill London with light sculptures and tell people to walk between them! None of us ever signed up to the metallic boot-to-bonnet dammage that now blights our shared spaces and London has been bold enough to close major roads for four nights allowing a quite astonishing number of people to take them back. It was exhilarating to join the river of people flowing up Regent Street beneath the flying koi carp.
 
I still miss living in my birth city and foot-bashing its ground for six hours felt a little like beating the bounds – claiming the territory as mine: Westminster, Piccadilly, St James, Mayfair (well, OK, Mayfair won’t ever be mine) and Kings Cross (which in its much seedier state long ago was mine, when I was a community education worker there).
 
Everyone was taking pictures and there must already be millions on the internet. Litre of Light, showing how plastic drink bottles filled with water can provide very cheap light in dark dwellings was both beautiful and punchy. Leicester Square transformed into an exuberant light garden was a delight, garish Westminster Abbey made me laugh and the stick figures playing games at the top of Regent Street were inspired. But at the time, and in editing my self-indulgent 296, I most enjoyed the fragile human forms made of illuminated mesh in St James Square, and then, unexpectedly, above the streets around the square.
 
I don’t know how many miles I walked but by the time my throbbing feet finally got onto my bus ‘home’ I had definitely reclaimed London as mine.




There are more in extras, in case you want to join in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.