Snowdon

Great day! We walked up Snowdon via the Rhyd Ddu Path, which is a track I haven't done before, but the club hut is situated at the base of the path so it's ideal. 

Once we got further up the snow became very deep and it was hard work - I've never walked in such conditions before so it was fabulous and I got to use an ice axe and crampons (both borrowed from S) for the first time.  I'm not entirely sure whether he was just allowing me to experience using both, or trying to put me off in general...but it really doesn't matter as I'll make my own mind up and it was a great experience.  We didn't get to the summit as I was quite tired and was concerned that I would make a mistake, so we decided to go down even though the summit was only 20 minutes away.  But it didn't matter, I can do it again in fine weather.  (I have no idea why S has taken his gloves off here.)

There's an extra or two :-)

6.44 miles
3hrs 54mins
1373 ft ascent

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.