Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Winter walk

It was late when we left the house this afternoon, and by the time we reached Glen Massan and abandoned the car by the roadside it was almost 4pm and snowing gently. It'll be fine, I said - the snow will make it seem lighter ...

I love walking in creaky snow. I love the silence, broken only by the squeak of our footprints. I love the feeling of snow on my eyelashes (I know: I'm sounding like Julie Andrews ...) and I love being out as it grows dark and we can see distant lighted windows that only serve to make our surroundings feel more remote. And I love that red-cheeked feeling which hasn't changed since childhood sledging days, and the cold fingers and the promise of hot tea at the end of the walk.

A good day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.